The Sounds of Spring


Shizuka Sato & Naoya Wada
佐藤 静香・和田 直也

Grade 3
Performance Time: 2'44"
Publisher: Grand Mesa Music (2013)


Infinitely and instantly appealing, this fresh new march will wow your audience and give your students a new appreciation for an old form. In this first-time collaboration by a Japanese composing team, memorable melodies spring out in abundance in this charming setting. Melody, counter-melody, and an intense woodwind obbligato all come together in a stirring finale that is absolutely dazzling!

母校である福岡県立八幡南高校の後輩である佐藤静香さんと共作。佐藤さんは1991年生まれでトランペットを担当、福岡女子短期大学の音楽科でトランペットを続け、作曲は独学。前半を佐藤さんが、後半とイントロ及び全体的なオーケストレーション調整を和田が担当しています。 なお、タイトルは吹奏楽の巨匠の作品をもじったもの。
2012年3月25日、福岡県立八幡南高校吹奏楽部 第16回定期演奏会にて、佐藤静香さんの指揮により初演。